University news

On October 3-4, 2019, the second Forum of Belarusian and Ukrainian regions was held in Zhytomyr (Ukraine). Dean of the Department of Geography, Irina Abramova, was delegated from Brest State A. S. Pushkin University. On October 3, the forum program included a meeting of the bilateral Business Advisory Council, negotiation between representatives of Ukrainian and Belarusian companies, a meeting of the Joint Commission for coordinating the protection and sustainable use of cross-border environmental areas, a round table “Preserving the language, cultural and natural environment of cross-border territories: history and modernity”, and an eco-forum.

On September 12-14, 2019, the IV International scientific-practical conference “Actual problems of Earth Sciences: study of cross-border regions” was held at the Department of Geography of Brest State A. S. Pushkin University, dedicated to the millennial anniversary of Brest. The conference was organized jointly with National Academy of Sciences of Belarus Institute of Nature Management and Brest State Technical University.

Brest State A. S. Pushkin University was included into the celebration of the millennial anniversary of Brest. The Friendship Festival prepared by BrSU was held on Lenin Square on September 8. This fascinating presentation of the University brought together students from Belarus (Brest State A. S. Pushkin University), Russia (Volgograd State Socio-Pedagogical University), Ukraine (Lesya Ukrainka Eastern European national University), Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan (Brest State A. S. Pushkin University).

On July 3, 2019 the largest student sports games – the World Universiade – started in Naples (Italy). On the same day, the flag of our country was raised in the student village of the XXX World Summer Universiade. This event coincided with the Independence Day of the Republic of Belarus. Our country is represented by 45 athletes at this prestigious competition. They will compete in 8 sports: gymnastics, rhythmic gymnastics, judo, athletics, swimming, tennis, taekwondo, fencing. Three students of the Department of Physical Education and Sport represent Brest State A. S. Pushkin University at the Universiade. They are: Julia Lemke (swimming), Ekaterina Gnedko (athletics), Anna Ivanishchenko (fencing).

On June 14-18, 2019 on the basis of Brest State A. S. Pushkin University was held “Friendship Camp” for foreign students, which gathered in our walls undergraduates and postgraduates from China. On the eve of the Millennium of Brest, the camp participants got acquainted with the regional center as a town with a rich historical heritage, interesting traditions and customs. They were most impressed by the Memorial Complex ‘Brest Hero-Fortress’. A sightseeing tour of Brest State A. S. Pushkin University was organized for undergraduates and postgraduates. They visited museums of biology, ethnography, history of physical culture and sport in Brest region, a winter garden, a perpetual florescence garden and the Centre for the Study of China.